fields

Rwanda »

Upright Men

Eglise de Rwamagama, Rwanda, 2004.\nLes églises étaient des sites priviligiés des massacres

photomontage of project on the Rwamagama church, Rwanda

Collective Project of Public Mural Art On the Places of Memory of the Tutsi Genocide in Rwanda

See the project

More information :
http://uprightmen.wixsite.com/hommesdebout/home
http://www.facebook.com/LesHommesDebout

Presentation

The artistic and commemorative project "Upright Men" is part of a long reflection by the artist Bruce Clarke. This project comes from a request from the CNLG (National Commission for the Fight against Genocide) to produce work-related art forms of memory to be presented during the commemorative ceremonies of the genocide of the Tutsi in Rwanda in 1994. This project proposes the creation of a strong visual art work to mark the sites of massacres in Rwanda.

The principle is to represent in painted form, men women, and children on the outside of buildings, places of memory, and other sites of the 1994 massacres. The figures will be larger than life – often 15 to 20 feet high, silhouettes sketched but with a strong affirmed presence. They will be symbols of the dignity of human beings who went through the barbarous genocide. Victims or survivors, these upright men stand with dignity, testimonials to the painful history. The intention is to give a presence to the victims, restoring their individuality, reaffirming their status in the human community. The painted figures, every one different, will be emblems of the nobility of the men women and children engulfed by the violence, but who nevertheless, are still, from a spiritual point of view, upright and dignified. The sites of massacres themself will be marked by the symbolic presence so that no one can forget.

These "Upright Men" will be emblematic images that could be painted in various sites throughout the world in the spring of 2014, for the ceremonies of the 20th commemoration of the genocide. The project has two distinct objectives and its realization two aspects. The first objective is to provide a strong and beautiful image to the people of Rwanda to mark the various massacre sites so that the history of these places is not forgotten, and to assert that the Rwandan people are still standing and dignified despite what they went through.

The second aim is to give international visibility to the memory of the genocide of 1994. As part of the 20th commemoration ceremonies of the genocide in 2014, we hope that other symbolic places in the world will respond to the memory of April 1994 and cover their walls with "Upright Men". The international community, the powerful nations and the UN have a duty to honour the victims, to give humanity to the survivors and to remember their involvement in the events that led to the genocide in Rwanda. The aim is to bring to the forefront the history of genocide, to sensitize the world about the events of 1994, and recreate a bridge between the Rwandans and the international community.

 

Realization

This project of public mural art will be executed, under the direction of Bruce Clarke and in cooperation with the Rwandan authorities and survivors associations, on sites linked to the memory of the genocide: such as public buildings where massacres occurred, particularly schools and churches. It is important to encourage an active involvement of Rwandan people in the creative process. For this reason, we will set up practical and theoretical workshops to train Rwandan artists and work in collaboration with them.

Three techniques are possible to produce the "Upright Men": Mural painting, on the facades of buildings with a focus on the massacre sites in Rwanda thus perpetuating the memory of what took place in that place. Secondly, printing or painting on giant tarpaulins for temporary exhibitions and a wider circulation in various places (United Nations in New York or the Esplanade of Human Rights in Paris). Thirdly, there is the possibility of ephemeral yet dignified light projections of "Upright Men" during the nights of commemoration in Rwanda and elsewhere.

The strength of this artistic work will come from the fact that it is reproduced in many sites. "Upright Men" embody the assertion of a people still standing, … They will say to those who pass by, that here, in this place, lived and died men, women and children, people who we will not forget.

Latest Images


Lastest News

champs

Rwanda »

Les Hommes Debout

Eglise de Rwamagama, Rwanda, 2004.\nLes églises étaient des sites priviligiés des massacres

photomontage du projet sur l'église de Rwamagama, Rwanda

Projet collectif de peinture murale sur les lieux de mémoire du génocide des Tutsi au Rwanda

Voir les images du projet

En savoir plus :
http://uprightmen.wixsite.com/hommesdebout/
http://www.facebook.com/LesHommesDebout

 

Présentation

Le projet artistique et mémoriel « Les Hommes debout » s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une réflexion longue du plasticien Bruce Clarke. Ce projet répond à une demande de la CNLG (Commission Nationale de Lutte contre le Génocide) pour trouver des formes artistiques liées au travail de mémoire à présenter lors des cérémonies de commémoration du génocide des Tutsi du Rwanda de 1994. Ce projet propose la création d’un visuel fort pour marquer les lieux de massacre et de mémoire au Rwanda.

Il s’agit de peindre des hommes, des femmes et des enfants, sur l’extérieur des lieux de mémoire. Les figures, plus grandes que nature – jusqu’à 5 mètres de hauteur, apparaîtront aux passants telles des silhouettes, esquissées mais affirmées. Symboles de la dignité des êtres humains qui ont été confrontés à la déshumanisation qu’implique ce génocide, victimes ou rescapés, ces « Hommes debout » se dressent comme les témoins d’une histoire douloureuse. L’intention est de redonner une présence aux disparus et de restaurer l’individualité des victimes, de leur rendre leur dignité. Le site-même des massacres sera ainsi marqué par ces présences symboliques pour que personne ne puisse les oublier.

Ces « Hommes debout » seront des images emblématiques pouvant être peintes sur divers sites et, au printemps 2014, être reprises partout dans le monde pour les cérémonies du 20e anniversaire du génocide. En effet, ce projet comprend deux objectifs distincts et deux volets de réalisation. Le premier objectif est de donner une image forte et belle au peuple rwandais pour marquer les différents lieux de massacre afin que l’histoire de ces lieux ne soit pas oubliée, et pour affirmer que le peuple rwandais reste debout et digne malgré les épreuves.

 

Le deuxième volet vise à donner une portée internationale au travail de mémoire du génocide de 1994 et au projet des « Hommes debout ». Dans le cadre des 20e cérémonies de commémorations du génocide des Tutsi en 2014, nous souhaitons que d’autres lieux symboliques dans le monde répondent au souvenir d’avril 1994 et recouvrent leurs murs d’hommes debout. La communauté internationale, les grandes nations, l’ONU se doivent de rendre hommage aux victimes, de saluer les rescapés et de se remémorer les implications dans les événements qui ont conduit au génocide au Rwanda. Le but est de faire connaître l’histoire du génocide à la communauté internationale, de sensibiliser l’Humanité entière aux événements de 1994, et de créer un pont entre les Rwandais et le reste du monde.

 

Réalisation

Ce projet d’art public mural sera réalisé, sous la direction du plasticien Bruce Clarke et en accord avec les autorités rwandaises et les associations de rescapés, sur des sites liés au génocide : des lieux de commémoration et des lieux de massacres tels les bâtiments publiques, des écoles et des églises. Il importe de favoriser l’implication active de la population qui devient ainsi actrice et porteuse du projet créatif. Ainsi, nous souhaitons mettre en place des ateliers de formations pratiques et théoriques avec des artistes rwandais.

Pour réaliser « Les Hommes debout », trois techniques sont envisageables. La peinture murale, à même les façades, à privilégier sur les sites de massacre et de mémoire au Rwanda afin de pérenniser le souvenir de ce qui a eu lieu à l’endroit même. L’impression ou la peinture sur des bâches géantes permettant des expositions temporaires et une circulation en divers lieux importants (United Nations à New York ou l’Esplanade des droits de l’Homme à Paris). A ceci s’ajoute la possibilité de projections lumineuses éphémères et solennelles des « Hommes debout » lors des cérémonies de commémorations nocturnes au Rwanda et ailleurs dans le monde.

La force de cette œuvre artistique et mémorielle viendra du fait qu’elle ait été reproduite dans de nombreux sites. « Les Hommes debout » incarneront l’affirmation d’un peuple qui reste debout ; ils diront aux passants qu’ici ont vécu et péri des femmes, des enfants, des hommes dignes que nous n’oublierons pas.

Images récentes


Actualités